Valentine’s Fun with Debut Author: Michelle Modesto (Giveaway)

emoji-love-2-75emoji-fangirl-75emoji-love-2-75emoji-fangirl-75emoji-love-2-75emoji-fangirl-75

Hi everyone! A few months ago I decided I really wanted to do something a little different and fun to celebrate Valentine’s Day on the blog this year, so I asked a few debut authors who have February releases to come on the blog with some fun love/dating related posts! 

Today Michelle Modesto, author of Revenge and the Wild,  joins us for the last post for all the Valentine’s Week Long Fun!

1

She is sending two of her characters on a date!! 

header-the-guest-post

A date with Alistair and Westie started with supper. Alistair, being the sweet gentleman he is, set up a beautiful, delicate table and made Westie’s favorite meal: salmon and grits. For Westie, having a heavy mechanical arm can be somewhat … difficult. Especially when maneuvering around delicate things. First she drops her fork and when bending over to grab it, she knocks over her glass of (non-alcoholic) cider, staining the table cloth.

 

Alistair stands up, insisting on cleaning the mess, but Westie likes to do things for herself. Standing up, she doesn’t realize that a corner of the table cloth is caught in the gears of her machine until everything on the table clamors to the floor—this happens more often than she likes to admit.

 

With supper destroyed, Alistair desperately tries to come up with another plan; he doesn’t want to end the night so soon. But Rogue City isn’t known for its fine dining establishments, and the only place to get a decent meal is the Tight Ship Saloon, which is off-limits. And even if there were such places to dine, Alistair isn’t much of a people-person—and Westie shouldn’t be. So, instead of a meal, they end up in the middle of a field full of wild flowers, looking up at the stars. With the full moon shining bright, they spend all evening listening to crickets chirp and communicating through sign language like they used to when they were young.

1

header-the-book
Valentine’s Fun with Debut Author: Michelle Modesto (Giveaway)Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto
Published by HarperCollins on February 2nd 2016
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, General, Westerns, Young Adult
Source: ARC from Friend
Buy the BookGoodreads
four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.
I read this one last month, and SO SO good. It literally has everything paranormal you can think of it in, and things you don’t normally think of…like CANNIBALS! It is seriously a super fun book, but also has some epic twists and turns, and dark times. There was one twist that happened that I’m still all WHAT THE WHAT over!! I was glad when I started this one that it’s a stand alone, because I’ve started wayyyy too many new series already this year, but now I WANT MORE. MORE. MORE. (I’m needy, okay?)
There is some romance in this book, and I’m an oddball about it, while I liked the main ship, I REALLY liked one guy more (THERE ISN’T A TRIANGLE SO DO NOT FEAR MY NON-TRIANGLE READER FRIENDS) and he can totally just be mine! ;P But the romance that does happen is the slow burn kind which always makes me super happy, because as you all know- I am a slow burn kind of girl. ♥ 
 
header-the-author

About Michelle Modesto

Michelle Modesto is an associate editor at Gold Man Review, a west coast literary journal. She is also a former tattoo artist and works as a dog groomer and rescuer. She loves hockey, mudding and redneck things. She lives in Northern California with her two kids and a couple of bed-hogging bull mastiffs

header-the-giveaway
Open INTL as long as TBD ships to you!
Good Luck ♥

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Each day come back, new prizes will be added daily for each new author that comes on! One person will end up winning all of the participating authors debut release. Posts will go live by 10 am CST every morning. Here is the schedule! 😀

Monday: After the Woods by Kim Savage

Tuesday: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Wednesday: Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

Thursday: Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

header-comment

If you could send two characters on a date who would you send?

24 comments

  1. Sarah Cone says:

    The synopsis has me in love with this book already! I admit, when I first saw “Western”, I thought, “bummer,man” but I’m so glad I kept reading because it changed quickly to, “OH MAN, I WANT THIS BOOK!”. Magic, danger, romance & intrigue?! Sign me up!!

    • Crystal says:

      I’m such a western addict honestly and that’s what made me want this instantly, then when I learned there was ALL this paranormal stuff in it I was extra ecstatic!

  2. Christina R. says:

    Awesome how they don’t let anything spoil their date, how their company is more important than having a regular date.

    So cute!!!

    thank you so very much 🙂

  3. Susan T. says:

    I’m super clumsy so I can relate to this date. I can’t have dinner without dropping or spilling something! Lol! This book had me at cannibals! 🙂

  4. Carina Olsen says:

    This post is so awesome 😀 Love it. <3 Thank you so much for sharing Crystal 🙂 Yay for enjoying this book. <3 It sounds so good. And no triangle? YAY 😀 Ah, I want it. <3 The guest post is so awesome too. So curious about this book now 🙂 Crossing all my fingers for your amazing giveaway. <3 All the hugs. You are the best 🙂

  5. Giulia Mancosu (jiujiuk7) says:

    Hello Crystal! Thank you very much for sharing this lovely post with us! I definitely need to read this book!! It sounds amazing!! Kisses from Italy

  6. Anne Gabrielle Castor says:

    This book sounds dark, dangerous and exciting! I love fantasy and paranormal stories, and I’m also a big Cassandra Clare fan. Revenge and the Wild is a book that has caught my interest.

Leave a Reply