Blog Tour: Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee (Giveaway)

Blog Tour: Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee (Giveaway)

header-the-book

Blog Tour: Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee (Giveaway)Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
Published by Penguin on May 24th 2016
Genres: 20th Century, Asian American, Historical, People & Places, United States, Young Adult, Young Adult Fiction
Source: ARC from Publisher
Buy the BookGoodreads
four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.  San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. Now she’s forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can’t sit by while they wait for the army to bring help—she still has the “bossy” cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city? Breakout author Stacey Lee masterfully crafts another remarkable novel set against a unique historical backdrop. Strong-willed Mercy Wong leads a cast of diverse characters in this extraordinary tale of survival.From the Hardcover edition.

header-the-review

This review is going to be short and sweet. I find sometimes it’s harder to write a review for the books you love, than it is for any other book, and that is the problem I had here.

I fell in love with Stacey Lee’s writing in her debut novel, Under A Painted Sky, her writing is just as beautiful and flawless in this novel. Lee has a way of making me feel like I am completely immersed in the main characters head and that I am truly in the character’s world.

There is quite the variety of characters in Outrun the Moon, and there was something I really loved about each one of them. Mercy was so strong headed and driven, I quickly found myself rooting for her at every turn and just wanting her to have all of her dreams come true. I was amazed by how well she could push through all the adversity she had in her life and somehow seemed to come out even better for it. She was also a really loyal and caring person, and a born leader. She was definitely the kind of friend I would want.

Two of the main secondary characters, Francesca and Elodie, I really found myself drawn to also. Elodie isn’t very like able sometimes (I mean not very like able AT ALL), but I feel she really had a lot of character growth and I like the story Lee told with her. Francesca was just the best. Mercy couldn’t have found a better friend to have in her life.

The romance was pretty light in this one, and I was kind of expecting that to be more predominant, but I’m glad it wasn’t. I enjoyed what was there but I’m really glad this focused more on Mercy and how she grows on her own, through the world outside of her comfort zone, meeting new friends, and just being who she is.

Overall, this book was just really really good. If you like vivid imagery, beautiful writing, strong willed female characters, this is definitely a book for you.

header-the-author

About Stacey Lee

Stacey Lee is a fourth generation Chinese-American whose people came to California during the heydays of the cowboys. She believes she still has a bit of cowboy dust in her soul. A native of southern California, she graduated from UCLA then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. After practicing law in the Silicon Valley for several years, she finally took up the pen because she wanted the perks of being able to nap during the day, and it was easier than moving to Spain. She plays classical piano, raises children, and writes YA fiction.

header-the-giveaway

Hardcover Copy of Outrun the Moon

Paperback Copy of Under A Painted Sky

US Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

header-tour-schedule

THE FOREST OF WORDS & PAGES–Guest Post–05/17/16

WINTERHAVEN BOOKS–Character playlist–05/18/16

ADDICTED READERS–25 Random Things About Me–05/19/16

ONCE UPON A TWILIGHT–Review & Giveaway–05/20/16

Rainy Days Coffee and Books–Video Review–05/23/16

Clear Eyes, Full Shelves–Guest post 3–05/24/16

Twinning for Books–Book Soundtrack–05/25/16

IT STARTS AT MIDNIGHT–Guest post 2–05/26/16

BOOKIEMOJI–Review & Giveaway–05/27/16

The Social Potato–Would You Rather?–05/30/16

MUNDIE MOMS–Interview–05/31/16

THE EXTRAORDINARY WORLDS–Interview–06/01/16

Read Write Love 28–Interview–06/02/16

38 comments

  1. CassieopiaB says:

    I loved Under A Painted Sky, and I can’t wait to read Outrun the Moon. From your review, it sounds like this book is more about friendship than romance, which I’m totally fine with…YAY!!!

  2. danielle hammelef says:

    Wow! this book sounds so powerful. I love when historical evnts are woven into the plot. Thanks for the review today!

  3. Lena Marsteller says:

    I have been wanting to read Outrun the Moon as soon as I read the first chapters. I also can’t to wait get my hands on a copy of Under A Painted Sky too. So thank you so much for this giveaway. So excited for these books!

  4. Victoria (thepetitebookblogger) says:

    I think that I mentioned this already on instagram, but I’m really regretting not accepting an arc of Outrun the Moon. This looks like such a fascinating story and after reading your review I am more convinced than ever that I will love it! Great review as always!

  5. Carina Olsen says:

    Yay 😀 Gorgeous review Crystal. <3 So glad you liked this book a lot. I think that cover is so awesome. Sigh. Unsure about the book, but you do make it seem amazing, ee 🙂 Yay for liking the romance, despite there being little of it, lol ;p Thank you for sharing sweet girl. <3

  6. m88 says:

    I enjoy, cause I found exactly what I used to be having
    a look for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God
    Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Leave a Reply